Assassin's Heart

Assassin's Heart

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
4
1

With shades of Game of Thrones and Romeo and Juliet, this richly imagined fantasy from debut author Sarah Ahiers is a tale of love, lies, and vengeance. Fans of Kristin Cashore and Rae Carson will devour the flawlessly crafted action and inventive world building.

Seventeen-year-old Lea Saldana is a trained assassin. She was born into one of the nine clipper Families in the kingdom of Lovero who lawfully take lives for a price. As a member of the highest-ranking clan, loyalty to Family is valued above all, but that doesn't stop Lea from getting into a secret relationship with Val Da Via, a boy from a rival clan. Despite her better judgment, Lea has fallen in love with him; but she's confident she can anticipate any threat a mile away.

Then she awakens one night to a house full of smoke. Although she narrowly escapes, she isn't able to save her Family as their home is consumed by flames. With horror, she realizes that Val and his Family are the only ones who could be responsible. Devastated over his betrayal and the loss of her clan, there's just one thing on her mind: making the Da Vias pay. The heart of this assassin craves revenge.

Publisher: New York : HarperTeen, 2016.
ISBN: 9780062363787
9780062363794
Characteristics: 420 pages ;,22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

h
heavenne
Jul 22, 2018

***Spoilers ahead you’ve been warned***

The world building is really well done with different Families pitted against each other and each one wanting to rise up in the ranks to gain more influence and power. There’s elements of fantasy, as it also involves deities and Gods (each city has their own patron deity). Lea has Safraella for example, who happens to be the Goddess of her city and protects her followers from the ghosts that frequent outside during the night. I loved this concept as it kept the world interesting and played a large role in Lea’s character.

Speaking of Lea. I really enjoyed her as a character. She’s fiercely loyal, headstrong, and her skills are on point. She’s a survivor and once she sets her goals, she does it. Despite all she goes through, she continues to keep going. I love her devotion to Safraella. It may seem fanatical to some but it’s what kept her advancing into her plot for revenge. (Also, she wouldn’t have the drive to go find Les and Marcello)

Although I rather liked Lea and Val together but well he just had to go ahead and do that thing didn’t he but well, Family before family right? Les and Lea were all right. Not the ideal chemistry that I thought she had with Val, but it’s still sweet nevertheless. I can’t say I enjoyed reading the romance in the book though. It felt awkward and out of the place (do we really have time for this when revenge is priority??) and I didn’t care too much for reading about that. I preferred the plotting and surprises that were in store for Lea with the Da Vias.

Aside from the awkward moments of romance, the plot itself was great. It’s got good amounts of action and drama to keep the reading going, and the excellent world building really helps in this case. I especially liked the encounter with Lea and the Goddess Safraella herself. The last third part of the book closed nicely (bwahaha! Revenge was sweet!!!!)

I’m looking forward to the second book, I’d like to know what happens next considering what Lea chose to do.

martha_w May 21, 2017

This teen fantasy has a super-interesting setup – the fictional universe is reminiscent of both Romeo & Juliet and The Godfather, with rival families of state-sanctioned assassins who carry out legal murders at the behest of the goddess of death. I would have loved a bit more to this story, in the end – I wanted Lea to have some sort of deeper realization about the totally insane setup of the society in which she exists – and yet I still found this super readable, and fantasy fans looking for a memorable, vivid world will likely enjoy this quite a bit. It works completely fine as a standalone novel, but there’s also a companion book (set 18 years later) due out this summer – I’ll definitely be reading it. I’m intrigued.

p
pyn3
Feb 22, 2017

I am a large reader, i go to the library three to four times a week checking out three to four books at once. Some books I enjoy more than the first..or third. Assassin heart is a mafia type book, Family before family. Anyways, the plot, setting everything about this book makes me happy. You have a cold blooded killer, trained from birth to be a legal assassin and throw in a forbidden love it’s an amazing work. The suspense if Lea (Protagonist) and Val (Antagonist) will rekindle the love they had before she was utterly betrayed by her forbidden love. Each moment is filled with suspense and puts you on the edge.

t
tink05
Mar 04, 2016

This was a good read. Tons of moments of despair and betrayal making you wonder just how far Lea will go. I give it a slightly lower rating just cuz the ending was lackluster and didn't compare with the rest of the book.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

b
blue_dog_8329
Sep 16, 2017

blue_dog_8329 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top